Tags

, ,

So one of Husby’s favorite foods is blackberry cobbler. It never lasts long at our house. And here lately I’ve been super lucky to find pints of fresh blackberries 3 for $1 at our local Sprouts. Ladies and gentleman, that is very close to stealing when it comes to blackberries. They will occasionally include raspberries and blueberries as well. I always buy as many as I can and freeze them.

Anyway, back to the the blackberry cobbler. This isn’t my recipe, it’s in my idol’s cookbook as well as on her blog. Ree Drummond, she’s a fellow Okie and married to a rancher. I’ve met them at a couple of charity rodeos. And Ree is just amazing!

The following is her recipe, the photos are my own. Anyway, ya’ll have just gotta make this, it’s truly amazing. (Here’s the link to Ree’s original post, Blackberry Cobbler #1.)

Ingredients

  • 1 stick Butter
  • 1-1/4 cup Sugar
  • 1 cup Self-Rising Flour
  • 1 cup Milk
  • 2 cups Blackberries (frozen Or Fresh)

Preparation Instructions

Melt butter in a microwavable dish. Pour 1 cup of sugar and flour into a mixing bowl, whisking in milk. Mix well. Then, pour in melted butter and whisk it all well together. Butter a baking dish.

Now rinse and pat dry the blackberries. Pour the batter into the buttered baking dish. Sprinkle blackberries over the top of the batter; distributing evenly. Sprinkle ¼ cup sugar over the top.

Bake in the oven at 350 degrees for 1 hour, or until golden and bubbly. If you desire, sprinkle an additional teaspoon of sugar over the cobbler 10 minutes before it’s done.

image-3(Isn’t my anniversary present awesome? I love that I can bake two different things at two different temps at once and still have my stove top attached. This thing rocks.)

image-5(See yummy goodness.)

image-4I rest my case, it doesn’t get any better than warm cobbler with vanilla ice cream.