Tags

, , , , , , ,

Yesterday was so much fun ya’ll. I didn’t write a post last night because I was so worn out. I don’t think I could have made complete sentences. Oh, wait my sentence structure is pretty bad on good days. However did I manage to pass English Comp I and II with a B?

Ya’ll don’t want to hear about my illustrious college career, ya’ll want to hear about vacation!

Yesterday was amazing. Estes Park has an aerial tram that I’ve always wanted to ride. In the past it’s always been closed for repairs, but this year it was open! The view of the town from the top is beautiful. You can see the tundra, the entrance to the national park, Lake Estes, and The Stanley.

For those who don’t know The Stanley is the hotel the movie The Shining was filmed at. It was built by Freelan Oscar Stanley of Stanley Steamers, the carpet cleaning company. It opened in 1909 on July 4th. If you’d like to read more about it, here’s the Wiki link: The Stanley

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA The Stanley from the mountain, all of the white buildings with the red roof are part of the hotel. Of course the building in the center is the main building. If you’re adventurous you can go on a tour of the hotel. Be advised, it’s a bit on the pricy side.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The aerial tram on its way back up the mountain to come and get us.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Just look at that view. I recommend that you take the ride if you ever come and visit.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

For more information about the tram you can visit this website: Estes Park Aerial Tramway

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Lake Estes

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERASorry I had to include this one because I just love how the clouds look.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This of course is the view of the tundra. I’ll have to share a different photo in a later post. My aunt couldn’t climb up to where I was standing, so I took a photo for her using her camera. ( I’m also a better photographer. 😉 ) Anyway, right as I was about to take the photo for her, a Magpie landed on this broken tree. It’s a beautiful shot.

 

After riding the tram we went downtown to do some shopping. I bought a more practical hat, my white one kept trying to blow away.

photo%205-5My absolutely adorable hat that can’t stand the mountain winds.

photo%201-8My new, not so adorable hat. But ya’ll, that’s ok. This way I won’t lose it and I still get protection from the sun. I’ll take looking like a goober over a sunburn. 😉

photo%201-7

Fall River, I took this walking along the river walk in town. It’s not normally that high or moving that fast. They’re already worried that it might flood again come the September rains.


photo%202-8

I spotted this local artist during our walk. This is one of the things I love about this town.


photo%203-6

Another view of Fall River taken in town.

photo%204-6

Now I’ve always called this the reflection pool. If you’re out early in the morning before the sun has completely come over the mountains, this pool looks just like a mirror.
photo%205-6ANd ya’ll I just had to share this. I saw this amazing print in the stationery shop. It was a 10×14 matted piece. I absolutely loved it. However, after buying Husby’s gift, I couldn’t make myself spend the $50. Luckily I found a postcard version at a shop further down!

After shopping we made our way to the visitors center. Estes Park has free shuttles that drop you off at various locations around town. After a day spent walking and hiking, it’s a great way to get around. I also recommend if you’ve never been here before, be sure to ride all the loops. There are a total of five loops and are designated by color. All five stop at the visitors center where you can catch a connecting one. The Gold Loop is the trolley, which is the only one that stops downtown. Estes traffic is atrocious. Do not drive in it, use the shuttles. I could go on and on about the shuttle services. I think I’ll write another post over nothing but the service.

Well ya’ll, that’s it for now. It’s time to go get some breakfast and start are last day of vacation.

 

 

