Tags

, ,

I originally saw this on Pinterest. The link now gives an error code. I think the original blog has been shut down. So know that this is not my own creation. I did modify it to our tastes. I also added things since I can’t remember the original recipe.

This is a huge hit at our house. And it makes a ton of food. Bonus like the title says, you cook it all in one large skillet.

20140531-123457-45297867.jpg

You have to have a lid or something that can function as a lid to make this work. I got the one pictured above at Walmart, it’s designed to fit multiple sizes of pots and has been a life saver.

I also recommend using a wok. It’s deeper and the walls are higher than a traditional skillet. You’re going to need that with as much liquid as this recipe requires.

Ingredients:

160z(1 lb) uncooked small pasta, such as shells or elbow macaroni
1 package of smoked sausage, thinly sliced
1 medium onion, diced
1 tsp dried minced garlic
1/2 cup milk
2 cups chicken broth*
1 cup shredded cheese
1 Tbs olive oil

Preparation:

Heat olive oil in skillet, add sausage, dice onion, and garlic. Cook until onion is transparent. Add milk, chicken broth, and pasta. Stir to combine and bring to a boil. After mixture begins to boil reduce heat. Cover and simmer for 12-14 minutes, or until pasta is cooked. Immediately remove from heat once cooked. Sprinkle shredded cheese on top and serve.

20140531-130226-46946746.jpg

*For the chicken broth you can either use canned, carton, or do what I did. I added two chicken bullion cubes and two cups of water to my mixture. I think this gives it more flavor has the cubes dissolve and disperse through out the cooking.

20140531-130738-47258680.jpg

