Tags

, , , , , , , ,

So around here this meal is a classic and I can’t believe that I haven’t made it in awhile. Now be warned there are as many versions of this recipe as there are ways to spell my name. Which is to say, there’s a lot of them. But this is the way my momma did it and if it was good enough for her, than it’s good enough for me. Now I know that most of ya’ll are going to read that I used canned soup and say how bad it is for us. But please give this college student, cashier, and wife a break. Sometimes you’ve got to cut corners to get a good meal on the table in a reasonable time frame. Now for the recipe:

Oklahoma Smothered Steak

4 to 6 steaks (This is a total preference point, most people use cubed or round steak. I used patio steaks because they’re what I had in the freezer.)

2 teaspoons Lawry’s Season Salt (or to taste)

1 onion

1 10 3/4oz can Golden Mushroom Soup

1 10 3/4oz can Cream of Mushroom Soup

1 cans worth of water

Preparation:

Chop your onion up, any ol’ way you want to is fine. In a hot skillet pan sear the steaks until browned on both sides. I flipped mine back and forth several times. Once you’ve browned your steaks place them in a Pyrex baking dish. Leave that skillet on the burner and toss in your onions. Now just caramelize those babies. Take them off the heat, but sit tight with them.

Now in a mediumish mixing bowl combine the Golden Mushroom Soup, Cream of Mushroom Soup, one can of water, and the onions. Pour the mixture over your steaks and then bake it all for about an hour at 350F.

Now for the side dishes. you can serve the steaks with mashed potatoes or rice. But be sure to include some kind of green. And I’m sorry don’t ask me how to cook rice, all I can do is the 5 minute rice. Now I can make a mean mashed potato, I’ll share that with ya’ll another time.

Now I forgot to take photos of browning the steaks, oh and the steaks before I even cooked them, sorry ya’ll. But here’s what I did get some photos of.

The cast of characters:

Image

See, I totally cheated. Know there are recipes for homemade, but sometimes a girl’s gotta do what a girl’s gotta do.

Image

This is a necessity in any self respecting southern kitchen.Image

And the onion, this is more for a size reference than anything.

And good grief, when did my counters and stove top get that messy? Looks like I know what I am doing tomorrow!

Image

The only photo I got of the steaks.

Image

The only cooking picture that I have.

Now for the mixing:

Image

The two soups. I fully admit from here on out, this is not going to look very appetizing. I’m not sure if there is even away to make it look tasty.

Image

Almost there, I’m getting hungry.

Image

Now add the water

Image

Porr mixture over the steaks.

Image

Just waiting, really hungry.

Image

Husby made the rice for me.

Image

I told ya’ll it wouldn’t look very tasty, but it is I swear!

Image

Husby does not think he needs his veggies. But yay, it’s finally time to eat.

