Tags

, , , ,

Last night I fixed an old favorite at our house, chicken broccoli casserole. It’s a favorite because it’s just so darn easy and tasty. I thought I’d share the recipe with ya’ll. I mean who doesn’t adore easy and tasty? Another bonus is that other then the dishes you eat off of you only dirty up two things. I don’t know about ya’ll but even with the new dishwasher my husby installed, I hate doing dishes. So without further ado I present to you our family’s version of a classic.

Chicken Broccoli Casserole

Ingredients:

1/2 lb boneless skinless chicken thighs

1 cup shredded mild cheddar cheese

4 oz Veleeta cheese(optional)

2 10 3/4oz cans of Cream of Chicken soup

1 cup broccoli

10 3/4oz Rice(just fill up one of your empty soup cans)

The Process:

Preheat you oven to 350 degrees F. Now in a medium sized mixing bowl cut up the raw chicken. I usually do about one inch squares. (I recommend a good of meat scissors, it makes this whole thing easier.) Next cut up the broccoli in the same fashion. Add your two cans of soup, don’t forget to hang on to one to get some rice. Add your rice, you’ll probably need a spoon or rubber/silicone spatula to scrap the sides of the cans for both the soup and the rice. Now toss in the shredded cheese. Using whatever you scrapped your cans out with stir everything together inside your mixing bowl. if you wish to add the Veleeta cube the 4 ounces and toss the cubes in. This part is completely up to you, it just makes the whole thing creamier and cheesier. Now you’re going to transfer everything into a glass casserole dish, I use a 9in x 13in one.(I can’t for the life of me remember how many quarts it holds.) Spread it out as evenly as possible and bake for an hour.

I hope ya’ll enjoy your supper.

As a side note this dish is always a hit during the holidays and at potlucks.

If ya’ll try it out, please let me know how your family liked it.

photo

PS Next time I add a recipe I’ll add step by step photo instructions.

